It is the only one left of four gates which have been a part of the city fortification that circled the city. Upper terace 51 metres above ground offers breathtaking vistas over the historical centre. On the top of the tower is a statue of Archangel Michael slaying a dragon. Today the tower serves as Municipal Museum of weapons and medieval fortification. The history of St. Michael’s gate dates back to the end of the 13th century and the first written document about its existence dates to 1411. The fortification in front of the St. Michael’s gate was closed off by a drawbridge over a moat. Later it was rebuilt in stone. The entrance was closed by a drawn portcullis along with a wooden door. During the coronation of 19 Hungarian kings (1563–1830) in Bratislava (Pressburg), (Pozsony), the ruler would enter with his coronation entourage by the way of the Vydrica Gate, get crowned at St. Martin’s Cathedral and one of the stops following the coronation during the procession through the town was the stop at St. Michael’s Gate, where the new king would pledge his king’s oath to the hands of the archbishop.